Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Starting Up Questions

Jossie

Reaction score
So I'm a complete newbie when it comes to axolotls.
I used to admire them in my local petshop window (they always had them) when I was a kid and have always wanted one.
I've been doing some research on them to find out more about the care and requirements of theses gorgeous little guys, and still have a few things I'd like to double check before purchasing one of them. I could ask the store I would purchase one from, but I know that they tend to not be a very reliable source of information, unless the person you're talking to has had the animal before.
(I blame the biology student in me for doing research on critters I haven't owned before buying one. And my distrust of a single source)

Firstly tank size.
How big would be big enough for a single Axie?
I currently have a 37x23x23 cm tank that is empty, and could potentially use (thats probably how much water you could put in it, not the actual height of the tank), or I have seen a 25 L tank for sale in my local area (dimensions were unfortunately not mentioned).
Is this too small to be advisable for an Axie? - I've heard that they get quite large.

Secondly, what size filter is advisable?
I know that they dislike currents, but I've only previously had bettas, so my knowledge of filters is pretty minimal (Ok, I had goldfish as a child, but obviously I was not involved in the purchasing of a filter).

I know anything in the tank has to be bigger than the mouth of an axolotl (unless it's food or sand) because they'll eat it and die.
Is there anything other than food, plastic plants and at least one hidey hole that I'd need?