Question: An inquiry into Chinese FBN setup logistics

Kribby

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
Kim
I will be the first to admit my short comings when it comes to the logistics of newt husbandry. I have done research, I have weighed options, and I have tried to come up with things that make logical sense to me. However, this does not mean that I have always made the most correct decisions or choices.

That said, I am always open to learning and trying to improve my understanding. I am a researcher by trade and I try to apply those methods to my hobbies and while newts were not my original interest, I am becoming quite involved with them. So I was hoping to get some constructive advice on my current setup and potentially make some improvements.

As a disclaimer I will say that I am a student, so please keep in mind that my newt budget is not that high. I have mostly been adapting my fish keeping equipment to serve the newts. It is not how I would have ideally approached the situation, but I was sort of taken in by there cuteness and the alternative was to but them down (I took home 7 emaciated newts from a shipment at work).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So, I initially setup all 7 of them in a 10 gallon tank. A very high bioload for the system, but it was supposed to be temporary and I do have experience keeping high load tanks stable. Their current enclosure is a 25 gallon tall.

The setup consists of:

lava rocks - I was initially concerned about sharp edges, but I haven't experienced any problems in year I have had them and the high surface area provides ample sights for nitrifying bacteria to take hold. I have them piled around and hinding a small low power filter to keep the water circulating around them.

small stingray class filter - The direct flow in blocked by rocks so that there are no strong currents in the tank and the small size limits the amount of heat transfered to the water.