Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Trying earthworms for the first time. Help

Beate88

Reaction score
I have been using bloodworms for 7 months now because that was what was avalaible and recommended here. But since Charlie started to look a bit skinny and I wanted to spoil him a bit I purchased a box with 15 earthworms :)
First I tried to cut them up in pieces and feed. (they looked HUGE!). He nibbled a bit on the pieces but spit it back out. Tried this for two days without success.
Day three I tried one big live earthworm and *CHOMP*. He attacked it and spent a few minutes trying to swallow it. Success! :happy:
Now it has been two days and he wont accept earthworms anymore :( He just moves away from it.

Can it be he is still digesting? He is a small guy and the worm was probably as long as he was.

smily sam

Reaction score
meybe he is still digesting if hes small, try somthing else like blood worms, just keep othering him earth worms if he gets hungry he should exsept it.
If he dosn't exsept any food leave him a few days then ofer him some, he should be hungry by then.
Sam:happy:

Beate88

Reaction score
One more question. I was a bit worried that eating that giant live worm was a task to great for him. I could see it MOVE inside of him :eek::eek::eek: maybe he is traumatised.

I'll keep offering him though :) I'd love for him to eat earthworms 100% of the time. I feel that the bloodworm would be like us living on...only bread I guess.

smily sam

Reaction score
One more question. I was a bit worried that eating that giant live worm was a task to great for him. I could see it MOVE inside of him :eek::eek::eek: maybe he is traumatised.