Hi. newbie who's fallen in love with Axolotls

lorna

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
Lorna
Hi, I'm a newbie who's fallen in love with Axolotls and haven't even got any yet. There just so cute looking and in the vids I look at, they seem to have such nice temprement.

Am reading up on what's expected of me and their environment. I have a 4ft tank, how many should I get. Do I have to get a filter or can I just do lots of water changes.

I'm after the pink ones if anybodies got any, preferably male and female.

Does the water have to be matured first like my fish tank?

Hi, I'm a newbie who's fallen in love with Axolotls and haven't even got any yet. There just so cute looking and in the vids I look at, they seem to have such nice temprement.

Am reading up on what's expected of me and their environment. I have a 4ft tank, how many should I get. Do I have to get a filter or can I just do lots of water changes.

I'm after the pink ones if anybodies got any, preferably male and female.

Does the water have to be matured first like my fish tank?
Hi! So glad to hear you're enthusiastic about Axolotls. It's always good to have new people in the community!
To answer your questions, I really think you should start with one or two, even though your tank could house more. Do you know how many gallons it is?
Filters are best in my opinion because they are less work, especially in a tank that size, but make sure you have one that doesn't create a lot of current.
Are you looking for a Leucistic (white with black eyes) or an albino (white with clearish eyes)? Make sure to check out the For Sale section of the forum.
I'm always here to answer any questions you have! As the proud dad of 4 axies, I think I have a fair amount of experience and wisdom to pass on. :p
Hayden