Question: Is it ok to just feed my axolotl live food?

muffinhead

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi Guys

I'm new to owning an axolotl. I've had many aquariums in my past and even worked at one for four years so I know the basics. But I recently got a gold axolotl (2 weeks ago), housed in a 30 Litre tank with sand as substrate and rock caves, filtration etc. I don't know how old he is because I just purchased him from the local pet shop but guessing by size (about 20cm) and the fact that he has dark toes indicating sexual maturity I would say maybe 2-3 years old.

My problem is he won't eat anything but live fish! On the first day I had him he took a small piece of raw fish from my hand - barramundi to be exact - about the size of my little fingernail but then he refused to eat it the following days! I tried him on earthworms, meal worms, bloodworms (live and frozen), more fish, prawn flesh, axolotl pellets... but nothing. The water all tested fine and I put it down to him just taking some time to settle in. After a week of him eating nothing at all and me getting worried I went to the pet shop and bought a couple of feeder guppies to try them out. Well he gobbled them right up (after putting on a hilarious hunting show). So I guess he's just fussy or is a big predator and likes to hunt. I don't have a moral problem feeding him live fish and I live in Perth right near the river so getting a steady supply of glass fish and mosquito fish wont be a problem. My main concern is will he be ok just eating fish or does he need a more varied diet and if so, how can I get him to eat other stuff?

Thanks

Live fish are ok,though you have to be really careful as they transmit all sorts of nasty diseases.

Best thing to do is buy heeps and set them up in their own tanks so they have a place to be quarantined, really you should wait a month after buying them to feed to your axi.