Illness/Sickness: My sisters sick axie

trygon

Reaction score
Country
Australia
hello this morning when my sister went to feed her axolotl she noticed one of her legs had swollen and that her groin looked different she is very worried and i would appreciate the help

thanks in advanced scott

sorry these are some photos i forgot to attach with the first messege

Attachments

• IMG_0538.jpg
    IMG_0538.jpg
    40.5 KB · Views: 218
  • IMG_0740.jpg
    IMG_0740.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 219
I'm sorry I can't help you with the medical issues your sister's axie is showing, but I have some other advice that could save her axie in the future: ditch that gravel!! Gravel can be fatal to axolotls, as they can ingest it and impact their digestion, thus killing them. I'm new to axolotls myself, and so I'm unsure of the other problems... Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can jump in with suggestions, but I'd get her off that gravel ASAP.

i've been working on that for a while no where sells it...
i'm hoping ebay does

i've been working on that for a while no where sells it...
i'm hoping ebay does

Sell what?

You need to get rid of the gravel. It is entirely possible that the swelling is caused by axie having swallowed some already and is struggling to pass it. This is a serious problem with axies on gravel. If you have nothing to replace it with, leave the tank bottom bare.

Fridging can help axie pass the stones. Please read the instructions carefully.

Someone else may chip in with some other suggestions too. If fridging does not help, axie may need to see a vet - do you have one nearby?

Edit: in looking at the pictures again - there seem to be white patches on axies gills - are those new?

Have you checked the water parameters, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate etc?

The swollen cloaca is probably from the axolotl straining to poop out pieces of gravel.