Flagstone?

carsona246

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Carson
I've never used many rocks in my tanks before, but i got my hand on a ton of free flagstone. I keep getting mixed reviews on whether this is an acceptable rock to put in a fish tank. I have really soft water, and have crushed coral in my tank already, so if it raised the ph a bit it wouldn't be a large problem I can just take out the crushed coral. Anyone know if this is axie safe? I really hope so cause I have enough to make as many hides as I need.
Also, did the vinegar test and there was no bubbling, which I know is a general way to tell if it's aquarium safe, but I still want to double check to see if anyone else has this in their tank.

ooooh Nice score Carson!
Flagstone is a very general term that denotes a large flat stone that is between one and four inches thick; stones of this nature are created by splitting or cutting. The primary types of flagstones are sandstone, limestone, granite, slate or quartzite.

The negative vinegar test rules it out as being limestone and all the others are fine in a tank. Sandstone can be a bit on the crumbly and abrasive side though so if it's sandstone I wouldn't use it in an axie tank.
Have fun, it sounds like you're going to be busy thinking up new axiescapes! Make sure you post LOTS of pics.

If anyone is wondering how to tell the difference...
Sandstone is, well, stuck together sand so if you rub a rough edge you will get sand off it.
Limestone fizzes when vinegar is put onto it and is usually white with a similar texture to sandstone. The limestone will buffer your pH up.
Slate will taste like mud if you lick it and when you drop it it will usually split into/along it's layers. Usually grey but can be green and even brown depending on where it's come from.
Quartzite is very hard, comes in lots of pretty colours that are usually fairly uniform. It's one step away from being marble.