Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Oh the excitement!

Lua

Reaction score
Just got about 2 dozen eggs through the post from another user. Due to the lack of axolotls in my area i had to buy them off ebay, poor blighters! but they seem to be in good condition, looking a little like kidney beans at the moment.
I am a complete novice to axie keeping, have had goldfish for years, so thought I'd branch out, axies are just so adorable However, I don't want blood on my hands, so I was wondering if anyone could help me out and give me a few tips on raising them? They're in a 10 G tank,+I'm planning to feed them on daphnia when they hatch out. Can anyone give me some tips on cycling? would it be okay just to start out with a clean, dechlorinated tank and do regular water changes? I've had a few disasters with goldfish in the past, and I figure eggs/ larvae will be particularly vulnerable to chemical changes.
Hopefully its the start of a long and happy term of axie keeping, if I can navigate the first stages!

Aimzs Lotties

Reaction score
Tips:
1. Keep an eye on levels of ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, pH etc. In-tank cycling with axies (not sure about babies though) can be done, but you must be diligent.
2. The babies need live food. Baby brine shrimp or daphnia are good choices.
3. Keep few in seperate small tubs when they start to vary in size. This will reduce the cannibalism of the bigger ones eating the smaller ones.

Hope this helps!
Thanks.

Lua

Reaction score