Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Neotenic Northwestern salamander

Kaosu

Reaction score
..ok so no pics yet i will get a video up soon.

I rescued what i believe to be a Northwestern salamander...it is Neotenic

he/she is about 6 1/2 inches long and has a full set of gills.

the question i have is are they able to lose there gills at this later date in life or is it always going to be aquatic?

Jackulwulf

Reaction score
As far as I know, once they reach sexual maturity in the aquatic state, they'll always be aquatic. I'm no expert though. Perhaps they are like Axolotl's and in very rare cases may morph at a later date but even so such cases would be extremely rare and likely it will stay aquatic.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Metamorphosis can happen at any time. They're not necessarily permanently neotenic.

Kaosu

Reaction score
Metamorphosis can happen at any time. They're not necessarily permanently neotenic.

alright awesome, ..are there steps i can take to keep it in this state?..or will it randomly switch ..sayy if it wants to crawl out of its tank and walk away.

Im new to salamanders..but i have been keeping fish for a few years now..i have some heavily planted tanks and was hoping he would be happy in one of them.

...oh and suggestions on what to feed him would be wonderful i offered part of a night crawler today and he refused it.

He is currently in a 40 gallon with a few small fish hob filters and a few large masses of floating plants he loves to hide in.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
By providing adequate aquatic habitat, you're doing the best you can to discourage metamorphosis. Be cautious with fish; they can nip gills.

Kaosu