Question: Options in Axolotl setup (Beginner)

Emubaz

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello!!

I'm new to Caudata and I joined because I want to get an Axolotyl (preferable two) as a pet. I've read up extensively on the web and have ordered the book 'Keeping Axolotyls' but some of the information I've gathered is a little conflicting...

1. Are big stones (bigger than gravel) best for the tank bed to save an Axolytl ingesting? Some say gravel is okay (I don't think so) some say sand (but this can be tricky).

2. I wanted to have two as I thought one might get lonely, however it depends on there age as they may fight and lose limbs, or if opposite sexes may breed (I don't want to breed them).

3. What size tank is best for two Axoloytls? And should I have a divider in the tank to separate them until they are old enough to be around each other?

4. Where is a good place to purchase healthy Axolotyls in London (South East) ideally I'd like one white or golden one and one wild type. (I'm not interested in glowing Axolotyls).

If anyone can give me some sound advice it would be most appreciated. I'm already ploughing through the Axoloytl forums, you guys sound like a lovely caring bunch of people!

Thank you! :happy:

Re: Options in Axolotyl setup (Beginner)

Hi and Welcome!

I will give you my little bit of advice I have learnt here, but there will be more experience members who will come and give you their wise wisdom! :happy: