New morphs , Alpine newts.

ACEPHONECHIC

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have five baby newtlets just morphing and loosing the gills.
I would like to ask you some questions as I am new to alpine newts and the babies are my first ones.
The ones that have morphed do i need to provide land for them as well as water as some seem to say you need a third land and twothirds water. They like to climb up the tank and as one has already managed to escape, I am thinking they need to have a better enviroment. They have lots of weed to sit on and a broken plant pot.
I am thinking of getting some spagnum moss and putting on a raise area so they can climb onto if they want. I can mist it to keep wet. They will also be more visible on the moss as it is a colour contrast, i tried peat and grass but they managed to blend in and was worried of loosing more newts.
At what size can I try very small worms, i put some in recently but they were not eaten. They have water flea and mosquito lava a couple of times a day.
Any advise greatfully received

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey, I have a little expirience in it and i say, the best thing to do while morphing is not disturbing them and starting to change things... just put something solid in the tank where they could go up easily, and just after they are fully morphed (take an extra week just in case) do the changes as they are now half grownups:) don't be bothered by the fact they won't eat at the begining, it's normal, let them take the time to get used to use their feet and they should be hungry again in about 2 weeks after the metamorphosis has finished.
Good luck!

Depends on the subspecies. I.a. apaunus will readily stay aquatic upon morphing.

Thanks for the answers I believe they are Italian Alpine (T.a.apuanus)