Algae question

Duhend

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Dustin
Sheesh it seems I've posted a lot lately asking questions...So the new tank I set up is doing good other than some brown algae I have noticed come on in the last few days. I'm curious if I can use something in the water to keep it under control, I clean things and try to keep the tank free of uneaten food to cut down on the nasties. I have a magnafloat but it can be hard to get into certain spots. The little snails I've become infested with can't keep up.

My girlfriend uses Algaefix from Aquarium Pharmaceuticals in her turtle tank and it has done miracles for her. Her algae was so bad it was under the scutes and causing them to fall of the turtle before she was ready to loose them. I've looked around and I've found nothing on the product on the forum, and since I'm new at the big tank thing I figured I would ask and see if anyone has used it, or not used it and get some advice. I know its ok for fish, but Axolotls just aren't the same as fish and I am curious.

I suppose the algae is just part of the tank ecosystem, but I do think it is part of the reason the pants look brown and dying. I don't have a problem with it I guess, but I would like to find a solution to it before it does become an issue.

Thanks in advance!

Algae is interesting! Brown algae is caused by not enough light, where as green is caused by too much.

Brown in particular is also helped along by too much nutrients in the water (poop, left over food) and low oxygen levels. Newly established aquariums are prone to algae because the tank isn't cycled enough to deactivate the nutrient content in the tank, so water changes are recommended.

The majority of water aditives are harmfull to axolotls, they have different care requirements for fish and turtles! I'm not sure what is in the algae control substance, but here is a list of safe/unsafe chemicals for axolotls:

http://www.axolotl.org/health.htm#list