Illness/Sickness: Is my Axolotl okay?

Atherose

Reaction score
Country
Australia
I've been posting so much lately, I get so easily worried.
My axolotl has lines down the sides of his stomach... like deep lines. No cuts or anything just lines.

Could this be from the heat (I live in Australia) or from not feeding him enough ?
Thank you kindly.

I have a vague memory of reading something about this, gonna go search it, but I'd check the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate while you're waiting. I doubt it's from not feeding him enough, may have something to do with your temp(maybe?). What's the temp of the tank?

edit: ok, couldn't find anything, posting a picture might help

Last edited:
Aren't the ridges natural? A pic would help.

tumblr_lr4onjCmeZ1qf707uo1_500.png

I'm not too sure, as I am new to this but his gills don't look to happy to me. I recently moved him into a new tank so he could just be adjusting...
His water has been at about 25c but I have been trying to keep it around 18 (I just ordered a pump for my chiller and I try and keep it at 18 but it's hard when I have work/am asleep):confused:

I also have been using water neautraliser to keep ammonia levels down as I have to put in fresh cold water every day, it has a slime thing in it too, could this be a contributing factor?

25 is stress level heat for axolotls but it seems like you are trying hard to reduce it. Those ridges are natural and from what i've noticed, deeper ones come with age. I noticed these lines on my axie one day too all of a sudden but they all have them. Some seem to have them deeper than others though.

Dont chillers automaticly keep the water at a good temperature?