My tank set, I need advise

parkss86

Reaction score
Country
South Korea
Hello, my name is Julien and I am a noob to having axolotls and this is my second post after the introduction.
Recently I have purchased two Axolotls from Jay, it should arrive tomorrow or on Thursday.
Currently I have 20Gallon tank and below is what I have.
1. power filter (any suggestion to decrease the current? I tried to fill the tank all the way)
2. 3 live plants (tried to find moderate light living plant in low temperature)
3. 2 Mystery Snails and 5small snails (I do not know where they came from)
4. 3 Guppies and 2 females already pregnant.
5. black sand substrate
6. UV light used for my turtles (I am trying to find better light any suggestion low cost)
7. Thermometer my tank is about 26~28 degrees C. I know it has to be lower, so hard.:(

I am working on the temperature, which I need to lower it and I am thinking to get a fan, any good source I can purchase it locally? Please advise me if I need to modify more or change something. I have read many threads, it helped so much but it will be great to have more advises.

Thank you

Attachments

• ?? (1).jpg
    ?? (1).jpg
    72.7 KB · Views: 190
  • ??.JPG
    ??.JPG
    261.6 KB · Views: 157
Looks great :] Nice job, glad to see you studied before you acquired your axolotls. I like your layout, I'd probably take out the one rock you have because when they reach size they'll ingest it but otherwise you're off to a great start.

1. use a waterbottle cut in half to divert the flow. If your axolotls still seemed stress out by the flow, then you may have to get a sponge filter, or a smaller filter
3.Get rid of the mystery snails, they are an impaction risk for your axolotl.
4. I personally wouldn't keep any feeder fish with your axolotls until they are big enough to eat them. Guppies may possibly nip their gills, and if your axolotls cannot eat them, there is nothing stopping them from nipping