Illness/Sickness: Old-timer Axolotls acquired, stressed at night, images of oddities

wigsgiw

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi everyone,

I'm not very good at being brief, but I'm going to give it a very good shot.

Background

I used to own two (adult) axies 8 years ago, they were very easy to care for - I think because there was very little light in my bedroom, so bad things couldn't flourish. I never had to buy a water-testing kit, think about substrate or anything - two adults on large river-rock substrate, content and happy for 2 years. I moved cities, so I donated Pinkie and Blackie to my old primary school.

Now

I've just acquired two new old-timers - my guess at their age would be minimum 5 years, because of their individual character and personality (which is awesome!) and the wear-and-tear on the chaps. They came with a big tank (1.2m length), no filtration, and filthy pebble substrate - yes the block-their-intestines kind :rolleyes:

Two wild types, one male, one female. Both with extremely poor (short, stubby) gills and eating habits when I got them ~8 weeks ago. Male (Maxy) has some spots on his face, and female (Faxy) with badly regenerated limbs (front ones with 1 toe instead of normal, rear right with 7 toes, rear left with 2) and blind in left eye. So safe assumption: damaged axies, living in very poor conditions = bad regeneration when young.

Since then, gills are slowly regenerating, apetite is good and they're excellent at hanging out.

The Problems

However about 1 week ago, Maxy started having "night terrors". Gills severely curled forward, and trying to swim "out" of the tank. I did a 1/3 water change, he calmed down. The next night: same deal, it was extremely distressing to see him so worked up.