Godzilla in Perth, Australia

Godzilla

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone,

I'm new in keeping an axolotl but so far I'm loving it! They are certainly entertaining.
I bought Godzilla, a wild type axolotl, about 2 months ago and he has grown so fast, I've had to get a bigger tank to cater for his energy and put larger pebbles in the tank with fear he may swallow the smaller pebbles.
A few weeks ago, I noticed him getting fatter and fatter. I have come to the conclusion he is actually a she, and she may be carrying eggs. I have read up on this forum and tried looking for more information, but not having much luck.
Basically, I only have the one axie and I thought they only lay eggs if there is a male around lol. So any comments/help would be much appreciated.

Maybe he/she is just chubby. Godzilla is well loved and LOVES beef heart.

He has a cheeky grin.
271196_2094791802545_1027827803_4120945_3888565_n.jpg

Sometimes he is shy of the camera.
264284_2099225513385_1027827803_4127786_2694078_n.jpg

Feeding time - also note the big belly (eggs or no eggs?? please help??)
308568_2246214988030_1027827803_4325545_273020952_n.jpg

Possible bloating or impaction. The pebbles in that tank are the perfect size to swallow and get stuck inside the Axie. Usually for Axolotls you should only use sand or large rocks.

Thanks Frogman. I will take that into consideration.

I have just came back from the pet shop where I spoke to a young guy who owns axie's. He was very helpful. I showed him the picture of Godzilla and he thinks he is just a very fat male who needs to be put on a diet lol.

I have bought him some frozen food which contains mussels, clams, octopus, fish, lean roo meat, plankton, shrimp, spinach, corn, green beans, zucchini, carrot, wheat germ and dietry fibre. Fed him half a block today and he loves it.

I haven't noticed him pooping much, so hopefully this will get his bowels moving again (Could be another reason he is bloated).