Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl Eggs!!

sushiNpearl

Reaction score
I cleaned out the tank on saturday and on sunday these were scattered all over my plastic plants. They look like the pics of eggs that I have seen. Do all of them look ok to you guys?

We are in the process of getting some brine shrimp and I always keep the cooler set to 55*F. I seperated the eggs into my fish hatchery which I have in the same tank near the bubbler. Is it ok to leave them in there? This is my first time to have eggs and I feel pretty clueless.

Thanks!

Attachments

• P9131174.jpg
    P9131174.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 740

nina89

Reaction score
Thats too cold, axolotl adults are sugested to be at 16-18 degrees and eggs at no more than 25 degrees and thats pushing it. I would suggest you remove the cooler and let the tank warm on its own you dont want sudden water changes its not good for your axies. at 12degrees they will take forever to hatch and its not suggested.
The usual with eggs is to either remove them from tank or leave them and remove the parents, what your doing should do fine, once they have hatched tho you should remove them to smaller tubs with an air stone and 100% water changes daily(dechlorinated water only)
Please read the sticky in this section it is really good.
Any questions just ask, good luck and keep us updated;)

I forgot to ask are they all the eggs they had cos a lot of them dont look so good, be sure to remove the ones that aren't clear(white and hazy is not good) they are not good for the other eggs or your tank water. also if she's in the middle of laying you should leave her be a little while until she's done then remover the eggs carefully.

Last edited: