Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Should I Separate my axies?

Zenna

Reaction score
Alright, so most everyone knows about my baby axies and that im very worrysome. since im new to the axie world, Im not 100% sure what im doing :p Should i separate my babys? im not sure what age their canibalistic-ness sets in, >< I'd say they're about 10 - 14 days old. maybe a lil bit older. im not sure. But I dont want them to be eating eachother and me just think they havent grown yet. =X Should i separate them? theres just 2. and they arent very old. But I dont know what age they're supposed to be separated at =X

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
If you have a large enough enclosure, and plenty of visual barriers, and offer enough food, you probably don't have to worry about cannibalism unless one is significantly larger than the other.

Zenna

Reaction score
well. theres a very small difference in size, i hand-feed them both till they're full. usually 2 or 3 bloodworms. xP since they're just about an inch in size, they're only in a 5 gal tank atm, they both stay at oppasite sides of the tank, occasionally going over and chilling beside eachother. you think they're okay together?

pent565

Reaction score
they sound fine together. Just watch the legs; If you notice any limbs going missing, you should probably break them up. My two new juvies have about two feet between them. I'm guessing they were with others before I got them. By between them, I mean one has one and a half feet, and two stubs and the other has half a foot, and three stubs. The limbs are now regrowing nicely.

Zenna

Reaction score