Question: My red-spotted newt

hotshot511

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have a question concerning my red-spotted newt. I have him in a small tank and I put dirt from my garden in it (it's only temporary, until I can get a more suitable aquarium for it) and there were a few small earth worms in it. I noticed that it had a dirt spot on its head and something around his mouth, possibly dirt as well. Is it possible that it dug up a worm and ate it? I just got my newt about a week ago and I'm still learning about them. Thank you for answering my question.:happy:

Ok. Thank you. He ate half a mealworm 3 or 4 nights ago, and I couldn't get him to eat anymore, so I hope he ate a worm

He could have found a delicious snack in the dift or he could have tried to dig a bit.

How big is your newt?Depending on the size it might have to be in the aquatic stage already.

My newt is approximately 2 or 2.5 inches long.

Haha! That's funny!:lol: I have another question, though. I put a mealworm in for him tonight and he appeared to be quite interested in it. I watched him attempt to hunt it down (after it crawled away) and it fell into the water and died. He still seemed to be interested but I don't know if I should cut it in half, or just leave well enough alone. Any advice?

I know I fed my Red Eft/Eastern Red Spotted Newt a worm today, I had it cut up in to tiny pieces, cleaned and sprinkled with nutirients and the little Newt ate it happily. Although, with Mealworms I'm not sure if you cut them in half, they may die if sliced up, whereas Earthworms just get more squigly thus grabbing the Newt's attention.

I know I fed my Red Eft/Eastern Red Spotted Newt a worm today, I had it cut up in to tiny pieces, cleaned and sprinkled with nutirients and the little Newt ate it happily. Although, with Mealworms I'm not sure if you cut them in half, they may die if sliced up, whereas Earthworms just get more squigly thus grabbing the Newt's attention.