Tiny Eft With A Sore

Kribby

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
Kim
I was feeding my children tonight and I noticed a small sore/wound (It is hard to tell at this size) above one of the efts back legs. This is one of the advantages to feeding them by hand and looking in on them multiple times a day. I am able to see and identify any problems with them.

I am not sure if a sibling bit him, if he scraped himself, or if it is a bacterial infection at this point so I am going to play it on the safe side. I thought that it might be useful to share the story of my treatment, the logic behind it, and the success or failure with anyone that might have the same troubles. This is my first time treating an anphibian this small.

My past experience with fish has taught me that usually the larger animals respond to treatment better, but I will still give this guy a fighting chance.
kribby-albums-kribby-s-newts-picture18359-100-7780-copy.jpg

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Patient
Approx 1.5 inches in length
Up until this point he has been eating a diet of bloodworms and brineshrimp (frozen and then thawed and enriched with Herptivite vitamines)
The "habitat" I had him in was just a clean tupperware container with a brown papertowel substrate. Dechlorinated water was used to keep the substrate damp and they were sprintzed twice a day to ensure that they didn't become too damp.
Each enclosure has a smooth rock so that the newts can climb on it if they wish to have a drier place to sit
kribby-albums-kribby-s-newts-picture18356-100-7778.jpg

Quarantine