Feeding a burrowed salamander

herbaltree

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello!

I am the new owner of a tiger salamander, Mr Sanchez! Yay! He's been left alone for a few days to settle in and today I saw that he's burrowed right down into the corner of his home, which I'm pleased about.

But I'm due to give him his first feed tomorrow and as he hasnt been out and about for the past few days, I'm wondering how to go about doing this. Is there some way to entice him out (I wouldnt want to dig him out) or should I just wait until he gets hungry enough to surface?

Thanks! :)

I have very little experience, but what I did the first few days with my own tiger salamander is that I just put crickets in the enclosure. And they quickly disappeared :) she probably got out at night to eat them.

He will surface when he's hungry. I go days without seeing my tiger, then all of a sudden he's on the surface or his head is poking out ready for food. After dinner he will often go back underground.

Check the tank late at night, use a flashlight with a red lense, you will probably see the tiger. I place earthworms in the enclosure and while salamanders dig, they find them, just like in the wild.

I keep my enclosures stocked with worms too. The worms wander around on the surface at the night where they're easy prey for the salamanders, and they keep the substrate from developing anoxic pockets by aerating it with their burrowing activities. If I want to check that a salamander is eating, I drop a few worms just inside the entrance of the burrow, which often results in the salamander dragging one deeper into the burrow to be consumed.

Our 2 A.m.mavortiums spent a lot of time above the ground. They've got plenty of substrate though. Our 3 diaboli's spent less time above except one. Guess every animal has it's own preferences.

I'm not sure if my local shop sells worms, will have to ask.