Fire bellied newt setup

kiathepooch

Reaction score
Country
England
Im contemplating getting a couple of fire bellied newts and have a couple of questions.
If where they are now theyre being kept fully aquatic does that mean i should set up a full aquatic tank,or should i err to the side of caution and have a half and half for starters?or maybe 70-30(70 aquatic).
Also they appear to be about 2-3 inches in length (this is a guess,and im not good at guessing lengths but it sounds about right looking at the ruler in front of me)so does this mean theyre adults?
Their tank will be housed either next to or under my axolotl tank(on a unit) where it will get natural daylight-i can always cover part of the tank like i do with my axolotl tank.

I think that's it question wise?

Hi,
Before you get any animals you obviously need to cycle the tank and all, so go with a fully aquatic tank, and for land, use a piece of cork bark. If the animals start refusing the water fter you purchase them, then you might need to move them to a temporary terrestrial set-up, but if the water quality is good and the conditions correct, they´ll most likely remain aquatic.
At that size, they are adults. Imports are almost always adults. They are also highly stressed and much more likely to develop problems after purchase. I´d suggest captive bred as a better alternative, both for you and for the newts. They are not always easy to find, but occasionally they are offered. You may even want to talk to other uk keepers and maybe start out with eggs, even. Of course it´s up to you, but it´s something to consider.

How direct is the light? Exposure to direct sunlight is not recommended. If it´s a bright area with no direct sun, you´d benefit from having lots of plants and a few hides, the newts prefer shady areas.

Thanks for your reply!
According to the guy they're bred ones(I'm going to ask someone else if this is true though,if not I might just wait and hope someone sells some on here).