Health check - opinions much appreciated

sillymoogle7

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello! This post is just to generally ask opinions as to whether my axies look fit and healthy. I've been a very paranoid axie parent right from the start, particularly about their weight, so I'd appreciate your advice! My leucistic, Xenophon, has had a brief spell in the fridge for what I thought was impaction but he didn't pass anything really. Do you think his cloaca looks swollen? They both started eating less about a month and a half ago but still manage a worm or two every couple of days which, from my cruising of caudata, seems to be about average. I do apologise for the poor quality of the photos, I'm a truly terrible photographer! Thank you, as ever, for your time x

Attachments

• S7002260.jpg
    S7002260.jpg
    55.8 KB · Views: 218
  • S7002263.jpg
    S7002263.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 270
  • S7002267.jpg
    S7002267.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 190
  • S7002278.jpg
    S7002278.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 208
  • S7002275.jpg
    S7002275.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 222
  • S7002270.jpg
    S7002270.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 213
He looks completely healthy to me. Two chunky, happy lotls! :D As long as their weight stays up and their gills continue looking like that, I wouldn't worry.

Hi
They look nice and plump :) on the first picture it does look a bit swollen but isn't it because it's a boy so that means having a bulge down there or am i looking at the wrong place? Apart from that I'd say they look pretty healthy but then again I'm just a newbie with 2 month old klaus :) my bet is if they eat ok and behave ok then they are ok. Maybe they just don't need food that often as they used to? I'd be worried if they'd suddenly stop eating and losing weight but they look quite rounded and like you said they eat so I wouldn't worry too much and just keep an eye on them

Sorry if it's no help for u maybe somebody will be able to see what I can't