Axolotl tank cycle need some help and some tips!! please and thank you

mudkip246

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Is it bad to cycle your tank while your axolotl is in the tank if so what should i do? i keep my axolotl in a 10 gallon tank with no substrate and she has a cave for her to hide in. im a beginner at this. i need some suggestions like what would be a good substrate i'm leaning towards large stones than sand and is the cycling process harmful to a a axolotl?:confused:

10 gallons is a bit small, and a volume of water that small can become toxic very quickly. I would advise to cycle without the animal in it, or get a large tank, so the wate quality is not as prone to rapid changes.

How large is the Axolotl?

she is 6 inches and unfortunately i dont have an extra tank to put her in im planning on upgrading to a 20 gallon tank. could i put her in a plastic tub for about a week until the cycling is done?

10 gallons is a bit small, and a volume of water that small can become toxic very quickly. I would advise to cycle without the animal in it, or get a large tank, so the wate quality is not as prone to rapid changes.

How large is the Axolotl?

she is 6 inches and unfortunately i dont have an extra tank to put her in im planning on upgrading to a 20 gallon tank. could i put her in a plastic tub for about a week until the cycling is done?

The cycling can take up to 4-6 weeks, but a plastic tub with fresh water changes would be a good choice until you are sure the ammonia levels are under control.

The cycling can take up to 4-6 weeks, but a plastic tub with fresh water changes would be a good choice until you are sure the ammonia levels are under control.

im using a aquarium supplement called nutrafin cycle is that good or i still need to take her out and put her into a plastic tub and continue with the cycle?

you don't need to remove the axolotl during the cycling process, you can just do waterchanges to keep the parameters livable.