Hello.

David Pinckney

Reaction score
Country
United States
My name is David, and I live in Burlingame, CA. I have joined this forum because I am making plans to put together a large, single vivarium with an assortment of amphibians, and I want to make sure that I know what I'm doing first. I am not a complete novice, or anything. Just with regard to salamanders I've had an Emperor Newt, a Yellow-spotted Salamander, Fire Belly Newts, a pair of Red-Spotted Newts, and a couple of Asiatic salamanders (I don't know what species they were, one was yellow, and one was gray).

But that was a long time ago. Not that I prepared myself with more research than just asking the people who worked at the pet shops some questions before making my purchases. However, this time, my idea is more grand. I only want one enclosure. I'm interested in a collection of pets, and live plants. not a collection of terrariums!

And that makes things complicated. On more than one occasion I've discovered that one of my frogs is trying to swallow one of my toads, or that one of my lizards needs their own home, because their somewhat larger roommate is sporadically launching attacks. This can happen even if their need for food is always fully met. The only factor seems to be size differential. If the bigger one "thinks" it's big enough, it takes advantage. They don't even care if they're the same species or not! They're CANNIBALS. It's like they don't even know the meaning of shame.