Axolotl thankmates

Ivo Katrafilov

Reaction score
Country
Bulgaria
Hi,

I'm a manager of the only exotic animal exhibition in Bulgaria. For years I read the forum and finally decided to write.

I am interested can i keep together in big aqua-terrarium, Axolotls and adult ambystomas such A. mavortium/tigrinum, without problems?

Sorry for my crappy English.

Best Regards

Generally we advise against mixing species. Axolotl can be rather snappy and they view anything as potential food.

Thanks for the reply. We mix other terrarium animals with success and even breed them in mixed terrariums. But in this case I'll listen the advice.

Best Regards

I would definitely not keep tiger salamanders in a semi-aquatic setup, especially one that is deep enough for axolotls. Tigers are not the best swimmers, and they may easily drown.

The man who brought them to us, has kept them in an aquarium without a land almost a month. He is aquarist not terrarist.

I have seen a few morphed tigers kept aquatically lately in other forums. I recently got two that had been kept aquatically, but now they are happily living on land.

I have seen a few morphed tigers kept aquatically lately in other forums. I recently got two that had been kept aquatically, but now they are happily living on land.

Did they have islands to rest on, or shallow water where they could stand on the bottom while keeping their heads above the surface? If it was deep water with islands, did the tigers dive to the bottom to hunt? I'd like to know more about how they behave in an aquatic setup, just how aquatic they can go, and what they do when given the choice between land with a substrate they can burrow in, shallow water and deep water.