Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Eggs

DeCypher

Reaction score
Just as I predicted. :D
I need help, fast. My albino female laid somewhere around 300 eggs, her first batch. I got around 200 of the eggs and placed them in a separate 10-gal tank. Will the adults eat the other 100 of the eggs in their tank? Most of the eggs are still attached to the plants (I just moved the plants they were laid on.) The tank is around 65 F and it has about 5 inches of water. Too many eggs? I am going to buy lots of brine shrimp eggs and a net today. I don't feel like messing around with daphnia.
Am I doing it right? Please leave any suggestions. This is my first time.
PS - what type will it be if father is leucistic and mother is albino?

Jake

Reaction score
If you are asking will they be OK for a while, the answer is yes. If you want to leave them in with the parents they will eventually be eaten, some while they are in the egg, but when they hatch most will be tasty treats.

You can never have too many eggs if you have plenty of space, dedication and food. Some people advise raising a dozen or two for the first time, but you can raise hundreds easily.

If the leucistic parent carries the albino gene, some of the offspring will be albino and some leucistic, but if it doesn't carry the gene they will all be leucistic.

DeCypher

Reaction score
It's a ten-gallon tank with around 250-300 eggs. I am buying as much brine shrimp eggs as I can. I am unfortunately going on vacation for two weeks on the 26th. Which will be around exactly when they hatch. Someone will be home, I've been educating them on raising Axolotl larvae and brine shrimp.