Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

What are these guys?

heathern

Reaction score
Hi. And help!

I'm a Kindergarten teacher that purchased 2 'dinosaur babies' at the mall back home. They were freaky little creatures and I thought my kiddos would go nuts over them. I got very little information but they were all in these plastic aquariums...seemed simple enough. Long story short....I don't know what I have so therefore I can't properly take care of them. The picture is from about 3 weeks ago. One had morphed, the other hadn't. They have since both morphed. One spends a good portion of his time mostly out of the water. If someone could just tell me what I have!!!

Attachments

• photo[6].jpg
    photo[6].jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 176

heathern

Reaction score
I bought these for my students. They were freaky little creatures that seemed easy enough care for based on their housing and information the mall guy gave me. It wasn't until I got home and started reading that I realized they needed more than a plastic aquarium. My problem is, I don't know what they are. This picture is from about 3 weeks ago. At that time only one had morphed. The other one started the other day. I can do research on my own, but only once exactly what I have. I want to make sure I'm taking care of them properly!

Attachments

• photo[6].jpg
    photo[6].jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 165

Kribby

Reaction score
Re: Hi. And help!

I am not an expert by far, but I have heard of people selling baby tiger salamanders as "baby dionosaurs" and he looks like a tiger sal to me.

I hope that helps.

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Re: Hi. And help!