Hi from flroida

frogmandan

Reaction score
Country
United States
hi all im dan, im 26 and from florida.
im new to the newt side of herping but i wanted a newt for many years
i am a certified and trained wildlife handler with a nfp eco education org. called "hands on wildlife safaris" we mostly do large cats and other animals from florida or which have been introduced to this state like the berms.
I myself have worked with or had many diffrent animals/reptiles/anphibeans over the last few years most raised with me then sent to the zoo for holding then for shows.

myt past pets include 3 beardies, 3 corn snakes, 4 firebelly toads, 1 chinese water dragon , as well as 1 whites tree frog, three pacman frogs, and my last one was a southern toad"just put on exibit with H.O.W.S.

now as of today i got a fire bellied newt and its going to be a fully permaniant pet for me so
if you guys/girls got any addvice for a bigger newt keeper "dont know that much about them" let me know.

thanks
dan
:smile:

Welcome to the forum, Dan!

Your firebelly is actually a paddletail newt! Check out a caresheet here.

thanks for the input i hate it when they sell me the wrong thing and call it another one

ive added 3 gallons more water to the tank and the newt is moving hapily around the tank i left the water filter and the stream rock becase i thaught it just looked cool and removed the other big land in the cage
(ill post some pics in a few hours)

it is crazy how they look vary simular to the fire bellied newts too