Question: New member, new axolotl

Schambers87

Reaction score
Country
England
Hey, names Sarah and I'm a newbie to the forum and fairly new to the.world of axolotl :)
I first saw axolotl years ago at the sealift centre and was fascinated...determined to have them. This Xmas my partner got me a tank set up and we got 2 axolotl a few days later.
I have an olive and albino(forget the correct name) axolotls aptly named olive oil and Popeye!
Things are going well, they seem happy and even recognise when I'm going to feed them.
I am however, a little confused over feeding. I only feed mine once every 3 days (they do get gassy) but quantity gets me. Feed as much as they eat in 20mins the books say, but I can't feed bloodworm individually so defrost them and add to tank...usually gone in half hour but unsure if this is enough for them. Fed them mealworms once, but then read why it's not a good idea and made my olive very constipated :$
I bought some crickets today and fed them one each as medium size and took a few minutes to swallow.
Just some friendly advice would help....am I feeding them enough and is bloodworm and crickets enough nutritionally (not fed both at same time, I vary it) . I have pellets but hear they not good so ave just in case I can't get anything else

Thanks x :confused:

the concensus is that earthworms are the best staple diet... much cleaner than bloodworm too...

how big are your axies and do you know how old they are? this info will inform how often you feed them

I can't imagine crickets are a great food for them, pretty crunchy on their tummies

p.s. would love to see a picture of the olive one particularly!