Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Substrate issues

sirentookie

Reaction score
I have an Axolotl named Toothless who is about 7-8 months old. I've kept him in a bare bottom 20 gallon tank until recently when I moved him to a 55 gallon tank. I went to the pet store to buy sand as I was already aware that that is what is supposed to be used for Axolotls. However, I have never used sand for anything else before. The man there managed to sell me (I feel like I was duped maybe?) a 20 pound bag of Red Jurassic Sand. He told me that it is very safe. It is silky and smooth to the touch. But he did not tell me that I was supposed to rinse the sand first (rookie mistake, I know). So I put the sand into the tank full of water, and ended up having to do a full water change because the water was so cloudy. Now, the water is still a little cloudy. My question is, will the cloudiness ever go away? Also, I have had a hard time finding information on the sand. The only information I've really found is that it's made from red quartz crystal, is naturally red and is low dust. So is it safe to use with my Axolotl? Being made from Red Quartz Crystal? Finally, my last question is, I want to add more sand and would like to know if I should use play sand or pool sand? And which brand should I use?

lea

Reaction score
You need to wash the sand until your arm falls off and then you have to use your other arm for a bit longer.
The cloudiness might settle but it might not as wel(the filter might clear it)l. I would do another water change and then rinse the sand some more.
I use play sand in my tanks and i got it from City Farmers. It feels nice, soft to walk on and it is white.

Bevi1019