Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Tank cycling

upinde

Reaction score
Hello can anyone in uk reccomend any types / makes of ph, nitrate, ammonia testin kits for tank cycling as I'm new to this and would like any useful pointers

upinde

Reaction score
Ok great thanks im feeling a bit worried about this as although I've read the guide it seems complicated

KingCanon

Reaction score
I just got the Api one off amazon. I went to a local pets at home and it's £30, my amazon one only cost 14. Hope that helps

Sent from the comfort of my throne room

carsona246

Reaction score
all you really need is ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate test kits. I wouldn't mess with your ph unless you know its problematic, and as long as it's stable there is no need to mess with it

SirKristoff

Reaction score
I've used API kits for years, through my marine science classes in Highschool, through college and even now. Sure they are a bit pricey but by far one of the most reliable testing kits out there... I would say if your in need of one ASAP you might need to buy one at the pet shop, but you can order another one online for half the price...

kiathepooch

Reaction score
I use Api,one test is slightly more complicated than the others-just take your time reading the guide and in no time you'll be testing like a pro!
It took me about half an hour in total my first test,now I can do it in about ten mins.x

Sent,using the power of my mind.....

upinde

Reaction score
Ok that's great I will be buying one of those. What can I put in my tank o start the cycling process as I don't have fish ?

SirKristoff

Reaction score