Cause for Concern or a Nervous Newbie?

Bukinara

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings.
While I have solid experience keeping exotic pets (mostly herps), I'm new to axolotls and unsure if I'm just being a nervous newbie or if I have legitimate concerns.

For the last several days, Gilligan Notafish (a leucistic w/GFP), has been having a little trouble with floating. He can get down if he tries, but it takes some effort. Once down, he spends his time either keeping himself propped down with tank fixtures or doing a handstand.

I've checked water quality and temperature and it is all within safe parameters. I've had him for about a month and a half, and he is probably over 4 inches now, but under 5. He's grown substantially since I received him. The pet store he came from had them housed on river rock far too large to swallow and I have him on sand, so impaction seems unlikely. Plus, I just watched him pass a sizeable stool the day before yesterday. After that he started building up gas again, I think.

Additionally, when he is gassy and floaty, it seems to me like he holds his rear legs very strangely. Sort of splayed or bowlegged.

His tail isn't curled and his gills are not curved forward.

He doesn't refuse food, it is just hard for him to get to it for the last couple days. I am feeding him primarily bloodworms (from frozen) and occasionally brine shrimp (also frozen).

I have a live hornwort in the tank with him and a moss ball. I've heard that some axies will eat plants and am wondering if he's chowing down on hornwort needles and making himself gassy. While I haven't seen him do this, I have watched him randomly pig out on sand (which was disconcerting for a while).

Anyway, that's the situation at this time. I was considering fridging him if the problem does not clear up withing the next couple days.

Let me know what you think. Thanks for the help!

at that size he'd be much better on live earthworms than bloodworms or frozen shrimp...

@LeFarge: