Question: Do some axolotls have white flecks?

K1TTYx

Reaction score
Country
United States
I got this axxie from a reptile expo vendor this past weekend. I didn't notice til I got home that the axxie has some white spots. I'm not an expert at all with these critters so I did some research and the only thing I could find was it could be fungus so I emailed the person I got it from. He responded saying that the markings were natural and that some gold and white axolotls have white and gold flecks and spots. Is this true? I actually have no clue if this would be considered a gold or white. I should have thought to ask more questions while I was at the expo but it was extremely packed there. I don't want an illness to go untreated so any advice is great!

The photos attached were taken BEFORE I removed the rocks. I had read it was ok to add rocks large enough that they aren't able to swallow but was told these would be to small at least in the future if not now. Plus his food falls between the rocks and I don't want him to get caught in between them.

One other thing since I'm already thinking about it. Is there really any way to know how much to feed these little guys? I'm afraid to over or underfeed it.

Attachments

• axxie1.JPG
    axxie1.JPG
    101.6 KB · Views: 486
  • axxie2.JPG
    axxie2.JPG
    93.2 KB · Views: 486
Re: Do some axolotl's have white flecks?

I'm not experienced enough to give you a confident answer regarding the white spots, but I do have a couple of questions that might help in sorting it out. Are the spots "fuzzy" at all? Sort of like strands of cotton ball? Also, are they shiny? Do they seem to shift color in the light when you look at them from different angles?

Golden axies can be quite speckled though:

2620.jpeg