Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

My axolotl gulps air from the top of tank

martin7283

Reaction score
Hi my axalotl swims to the top quite alot and seems to gulp air is this something they do or not as im new to this i have a 90litr tank and just have a filter running in it

AxoPhibian

Reaction score
Re: My axalotl gulps air from the top of tank

I think it means that there is not enough oxygen curculating through the tank for them to breath.

but dont worry thats not a major problem

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score

As long as it's not going to the surface to breathe constantly, it's normal.

richardj

Reaction score

And it's cute when they suddenly let a little bubble out of their mouth :happy:

martin7283

Reaction score

would it be better it i put an aerator stone in there i have been looking onhere an people seem to have them in there tanks

AxoPhibian

Reaction score

You can and it might be better, buts its not a major. depending how you setup your filter you should be able to set it up so it airates the water.

martin7283

Reaction score

he seems to be floating today does this mean he has an air bubble in his belly if so how do u get rid of it gettin bit worried now

AxoPhibian

Reaction score

He has either hasn't spat out his bubble yet or he has gas. should sort it out by himself. Is he an adult or still young? if so how old?

martin7283

Reaction score

he is still young only bout 3 inchs long i got him on friday last week plannin on getting another one this week to go with him they had 2 in the shop together so im goin to get the one that was with him

AxoPhibian

Reaction score