Sorry, but lots of newbie questions

tu71586

Reaction score
Country
United States
Sorry for all the newbie questions, but I'm just looking for some guidance. First a little background: after admiring axolotls for a while, I decided to get one after talking to some owners at a local herp show and doing some research online. For whatever reason, it wasn't until after I actually had our little axie that I found this forum. And for whatever reason, the topic of cycling the aquarium never came up when I talked to other owners about setting up the tank (though I take care of a blue tongue skink and a tarantula, I'm new to aquariums) nor did I see it mentioned in the sites I got most of my information from (Axolotls: The Fascinating Mexican Axolotl and the Tiger Salamander and Buy-Axolotls.com Water Dragon Axolotl Facts Ambystoma mexicanum For Sale). I've followed the other major set up principles -- 10 gallon tank, minimal current, water temp 68 degrees, but I hadn't cycled the tank water, so I'm a little worried. So, here go my questions:

1. Tank setup
Here is a pic of my set up (with the lights off -- they are only on for the purposes of this picture).
IMG_3455.jpg

Here is a pic of the filter I have (Fluval U2). I put the sponge around the output to minimize the current, and it seems to have worked well. When I put floating fish food in, it takes nearly a minute for the food to get pulled over to the filter.
IMG_3456.jpg

I have a question about aerating the tank. The filter has a Venti valve, and you can see in the picture that bubbles come out of the outflow. Is this enough to aerate the tank or do I need to get an air pump and a air stone?