Axie Can't Stay On Bottom??

AdamR

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey all, I have an adult male axie (~8inches) that for some reason cannot seem to sink to the bottom. He tries repeatedly but once he gets to the bottom he just floats right back up. He seems healthy as can be, regular water changes, water is always right around 69F, eats regularly on earthworms. He has been doing this for a couple of weeks and doesn't seem to be getting any better. Any thoughts on this problem?

I keep him and two other adults in a 20gal tank with fake aquarium plants, large river rocks, and two hides. The other two are perfectly healthy and they all get along very well.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!

I'm no expert But i'm sure one thing people will want to know, Is he Floating Bum-first? If that's the case he might have just swallowed some air.

If he seems to be stressed out by the floating I would suggest moving him into a container with just enough water to cover him, so he can touch the bottom.

And Yeah. More experienced people should be coming soon to save the day. Haha.

~Best of luck.

haha I'm not experienced but I thought i'd chime in anyways :D

20 gallons for 3 adults sounds a tad small...

he could also be constipated. What size are your river rocks?
How long have you had him? If he was a recent acquirement than he could be impacted with gravel.

HI Im a newbie as well, I currently have two juvies that are doing the same thing.. I was told to put him in the freezer.. it slows he metabolism and he will in turn poop and burp all the air up.. Im giving mine a few more days and if it persists Im going to put him in the fridgerator.. Im sure with yours its just air as same thing with mine. Mine is eating and everything too.. Id try the fridge.. I dont think it was gravel for mine since mine is in a container all by himself.. Try the fridge for a day or two ;)