Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl Hatchling Blog

Kipper

Reaction score
I had about 80 eggs hatch in the beginning of April. I created a blog documenting their growth and thought some people here might be interested in looking at it!

ISU Axolotls

It is called "ISU Axolotls" because I am a student at Iowa State University. That being said, if you are willing to make the trip to Ames, Iowa, I will have a bunch of axolotls for sale. I don't really know any of the shipping protocol with axolotls, so I am a little hesitant to ship them.

Anyway, before this starts sounding too much like a for sale thread, I would love any comments or suggestions if you see something I could be doing better about raising my little lotls. They look a little crowded in some of the pics, but I have recently moved them into even more containers.

Mycenaean

Reaction score
Well done! It makes me wish I had a nice camera so I could have a blog of mine! I'm stunned that they can eat bloodworms at that size! Very cool.

gfsward

Reaction score
If you come over to Oak-Elm (3124 Elm) at ISU I can show you what I'm doing with raising my little guys. They're a couple months older than yours so you can see what to do when they get bigger :)

Kipper

Reaction score
Are all 80 still alive?

Not all 80. I have exactly 62 right now. Most of the casualties seemed to be just genetic (Some looked strange, some swam strangely, others just didn't seem to want to eat). This was Kipper's first batch of eggs. I am not sure what the mortality rate is for a young mother's hatchlings. Hopefully this is relatively normal and I am not doing things wrong! This is my first batch of hatchlings I have raised.