Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: New Axolotl

georgemichael

Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to keeping axolotls. I was recently (yesterday afternoon, really) gifted a very pretty axie (named him George Michael, after Michael Ciera's character in the tv series Arrested Development), and I think he's a leucistic? with bits of brown spots on his head and along his dorsal? is that right?

I've been reading up on tank cycling and substrates and feeding, and I think I have it under control, maybe, hopefully. Been keeping tabs on the pH and nitrate/nitrite levels and things like that. The really cute thing about having fine sand in his tank is that when I get up in the morning to say hello to him, I see evidence of his night adventures in the little footprints he left all over the sand!

Anyway, I really should get to the point. He has very little gills, and in most of the photos I've seen on this website, the axies have long gills. Is this just because he's young (he's just shy of 10cm)? or is it because they might've been nibbled on by tank mates in his previous home?

Also, along his body/abdomen area, the left side is a darker shade (kind of dark blue-ish) than the right side, is that just his organs, or his colouration, or something bad?