Question: Is this a good set up for Axolotls?

Satnav

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a total newbie to all things Axoxlotl and am aiming on getting a tank in a couple of weeks so am aiming to get a few juvenile Axolotls once my tank has matured, here is the set up i am getting:

• Juwel Vision 260 Bow fronted tank, the pump, filters and heater come with the tank and sit inside the tank.
  • Juwel Tree & Rock decorations on the back and probably some Juwel Rock to give some platforms.
  • Also some intank decorations that they can hide in, what do other people use?
Has anyone every used a Vision 260 for Axolotls and also am wondering if the filter/pump is ok in regards the water current in the tank as i have read that Axolotls get stressed if the water current is too stong.

Also what are peoples feelings about Fine Aquarium sand on the bottom of the tank to stop them ingesting large gravel & stones?

Hi , I know that Bow fronted tanks are kinda of high in dimension, Axolotls need more of a tank that is long VS high vertically. I myself would not go with a bow fronted tank at all. Also, Juveniles should not be housed together because they tend to have cannibalistic traits and will nip on the gills, feet and tail of their tank mate until the reach adulthood Rock decorations are OK but they rocks themselves must be large. No gravel or pebblestones.. Good substrate for axolotls are sand that does not a calici in it.. Like play sand rinsed off very well in good. As far as the filter goes in general as long as there is not a strong current from the water ( u can improvise to make less current) the filter should be good..

The bow fronted tank to me does not sound like a good setup because you will never need a heater for axolotls. their tank should never get about 72 degrees as they are cold water amphibians.