Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question! chunk bit out of tail!

Jake888

Reaction score
I am very new to axolotls and I have a question...I have two axolotls about 4 months old. One is a gold albino and the other a wildtype. They are siblings and have been raised together since hatching and now suddenly one bit a chunk out of the others tail! I have read this can lead to lifelong cannabalism. I have never seen them do that before....am I over thinking this....or could this be a bad sign? They are both about 5 inches long at this point.

imzunicorn

Reaction score
It's not really anything to worry about. They do that sometimes especially when they're young. They don't stay "permanently cannibalized." It's kind of a myth about them, that they go through this stage and then stay that way and can't live with other axolotls.

Just keep them fed, be careful about feeding them when they're right by each other. Don't mix different sizes as bigger ones will bite smaller ones. If one ends up with a missing foot, then he's just footless for a couple months. It's not anything to make a big deal about.

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
How often are you feeding them?

I would suggest feeding them at opposite sides of the tank from one another, so accidents are less likely to occur at meal times.

They are oppurtunistic feeders and will tend to snap at anything in the vicinity that moves near them (including our fingers! ;)). When there is more than one in the tank, you will always run the risk of one mistaking another's limbs, tail, or gills for food.