Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello from CA with some CA newt questions!

calpolybobby

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to owning newts and excited to learn all I can!

I recently received 4 california newts T. Torsa from a friend who was moving and couldn't keep the little guys any longer. They were all in great shape when I got them but now the runt "dolly" I think has fungus on her tail. I did some research on here and started salt bath treatments at 6g/L of water. The tank is a 20 long, water temp hovers around 68-70 being that I have no air-conditioning for the nest week or so. I dont currently have any test kits so I can't give anymore information as to ph or nitrates. The tank is set up with a reptofilter for 20gallons with a tree stump that breaks the water flow. Everything came with the tank from my friend, I plan on making changes within the next 2 weeks when I get to my permanent home. Change gravel to organic substrate and plant live plants.

Couple of questions that I have yet to find answered on here, hopefully someone can help!

1) I have done the salt baths 2 times a day for past 3 days and the scab with the fungus has fallen off. Is this normal? seems as if the skin now is raw again. Do I continue for longer than the recommended 2-3 days after it falls off?

2) Is the fungus contagious to the other newts in the tank? I currently have dolly in a separate tank but would like to know when or if I can re introduce her into the larger set up

3) The tank currently is fully aquatic being they are in breeding season. I would like to make the tank a semi aquatic tank like most care sheets recommend...when can I expect the little guys to start going on land more?