Odd behaviour in tiger?

jcase

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hi all, it's my first time on the forum and I'm hoping that you might be able to help figure out what's going on with my tiger.

I've had two of them, wild caught from my backyard, for almost two years now. They live in the same cage (I'm not sure of the gallons off the top of my head but it's 1 ft x 2 ft base) and have since we caught them as they're both approximately 9" long. The one salamander (Salvadore) has always been larger, he's broader in the shoulders and hips than the other but their behaviour was always similar and as far as I could tell pretty typical for salamanders (voracious eaters, begging for food, come running when they hear their feeder, etc.)

Recently, in the last month or so, the smaller salamander (Junior) has been having strange behaviour. He burrows deep into the substrate (I provide them with hiding places, so he had never buried before this time unless I didn't keep the humidity high enough) and seems very lethargic, never coming for food anymore. Not only that, but when we attempt to feed him he refuses and is appearing quite skinny next to the well-fed Salvadore. We used to feed them a diet of only dusted crickets but have recently (in the last 2-3 months) have been branching out to hornworms with occasion meal worms or super worms (with the heads crushed of course). Tonight I tried digging some earth worms but he still refused them (Salvadore, by the way, will voraciously eat all of these things, so I assume they are appetizing to a salamander). We'll probably try to feed him a few crickets again this week, just in case he's a picky eater (but he was eating the mealies and hornworms fine for a while), but was hoping that maybe someone on here could point out other things I could try to get him back to his 'normal' self.