Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Fungus and larvae

Lady Rassilon

Reaction score
I have about 30 larvae at the moment. I had been using cycled water from the parent's tank, for a few months now, with no problems.
However, my adult has now developed a fungus infection, which I am about to treat with a salt bath.

I have been away for two days, and the infection seems to have developed rapidly, I didn't notice it before I went away. Which unfortunately means that I have caused an infection in the larvae as well, by using the adult's tankwater. I have immediately changed the water for the larvae and separated the ill larvae, one but has already died (the biggest and strongest, funnily enough).

I have two questions:
- Can I treat fungus in larvae - they don't yet have front legs

- What causes fungus hence how can I reduce the chances of this happening again?

(I do try and keep the tanks as clean as possible, but I know I'm not perfect...)

Jacquie

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi Lady Rassilon,

(A Time Lord? ;) Welcome!)

Kapo successfully salt bathed larvae that were smaller than yours, using the same salt bath solution used for adult axolotls. Scroll down to post #4 of this thread:

HELP! Is this FUNGUS its on a baby What do I do??

Fungus outbreaks usually occur due to water quality issues. I know you said that your tank has cycled, but have you tested your water parameters in case of a toxic spike? If you could post your ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH readings, and water temperature, that would be great.