Illness/Sickness: My axolotl Fiyero is dropping its tail

Elphaba

Reaction score
Country
Australia
hello,
these pictures are of my axolotls tail. my other axolotl (ephy) took a little nip about 2 weeks ago. And last week he started dropping the end of his tail. the end of his spinal cord is hanging out now. :/ what should i do to help her, is she going to die??

GetAttachment.aspx
GetAttachment.aspx
GetAttachment.aspx

[/ATTACH][/ATTACH] hope these pics work ( sorry im new to this)

Attachments

• photo 2.JPG
    photo 2.JPG
    232.6 KB · Views: 396
  • photo 3.JPG
    photo 3.JPG
    273.4 KB · Views: 374
Ouch!!! First things first, axies are excellent healers, so keep your chin up AND DO NOT GIVE UP HOPE!!!
What I may suggest is firstly to put him into the fridge for a bit- it'll help him heal and reduce the chances of fungal infections.
Also, that substrate (Whilst it's still very pretty) really is not suitable for axies on it :( Because axies (Even if you feed them by hand or in a jar or with pellets or whatever) will gulp to eat, to breathe, to be silly etc, anything and everything around its mouth can and will be ingested. The only time gravel should be in a tank is when it is securely bagged to stop them getting at it in a filtration system.
Maybe use it in another tank set up with some guppies and red cherries as treats for your monsters? Play sand from Bunnings at $10/20kg is much better to use, and they quite enjoy it (not to mention you get axie footprints in the sand :D!) or even a bare bottom to your tank. But I'd be getting those pebbles out tonight.
Also, could you give us:
Temperature
pH
Ammonia
Nitrite
Nitrate

Just in case something's gone strange with your chemistry as well.
Keep your head up!!

Thanks! we are going shoppping for sand today! :)

the ph is around 7
and the local fish store checked the rest and said they were all fine :)

thanks for the advice :love: