Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Lethargic Axolotl

constellatia

Reaction score
Yesterday I brought home a young axolotl, only 2 inches in length. He's been introduced to my 20 gallon aquarium. Ph is 7.6, all other parameters normal. Water temperature fluctuates slightly between 67 and 68 degrees. I'm not sure if he's just adjusting to his environment, but he doesn't move around very often. He mostly just hides on the bottom, but he has eaten a generous amount of bloodworms. Not sure if this is normal behavior, any ideas?

Paivi

Reaction score
Congratulations on your new family member! What did you name him/her? :happy:

I'm quite new to the axolotls as well, and yours is much younger and smaller than ours were when we got them, but to me your little one's behaviour sounds quite normal.