Question: When to clean larvae?

Minniechild

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Caitie
First, before everyone goes up in arms can I explain? As this is my first time with larvae this young (Molls and co were two weeks old when they came to live with me), I'm a bit lost on the water change front...
My setup at the moment is:
-Approx. 750mL in a 30x30cm cake carrying box (3.5L when filled to the top), upgraded from a 20x15 surface area and approx. 400mL (trying to follow the pics on the forum and not doing as well as I should've...).
-Currently there are 40-ish larvae in there as well as HEAPS of java moss which they love hanging out in.
-I'm feeding bbs, now twice a day, which I have set up in a 6L tank with heater and light (as well as algae tabs), approx. 10mL per feeding when mixed with fresh water (from harvesting and washing following Yellowpebble's amazing tutorial, though accounting for the 6 litres instead of the 1.6L in hers).

Where I'm confused is at what point should the water be changed over with all this taken into account? After each feeding? Or when the amount of brine shrimp added is equal to, let's say, 5% of the water volume? Whilst a water change every day is not not going to happen, I'm rather worried about when/if I should be doing two, especially when (like tonight) I may only be getting 5mL of brine shrimp harvested for the second feeding(I'm still working out what method works best on that front).

Many thanks, Minnie/Caitie (Who can't wait until her darling babies can eat blackworms :D )

In addition to water changes, you may also need to consider cleaning out the inside of the container, as crud and dead bbs can stick to it. Is there any way to clean out the whole container?