Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hi all, Axie newbie here...

derryt

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I've been keeping fish of various types for about 6 years now, but recently saw a lone Axolotl in my local fish shop and instantly feel in love with its weird, cute little pokemon looking face!

As a result, I'm now looking to start an Axie tank, and was wondering if anyone would mind answering a few beginner type questions for me (I've read through the main info sites but can't see the below mentioned specifically anywhere)?

I have a Juwel Rio 125 - dimensions are 81l x 36w x 50h cm, and I will have an external cannister filter with a spray bar that I will use as the filter.

From what I understand of it, comapred to other fish, Axolotls are more about "floor space", than total overall volume of the tank, as I would have 2916cm of said "floorspace", would I only be able to fit one Axie, or would 2 fit comfortably?

Secondly, in relation to decorations/hides etc, do these fellas like having open areas to wander/swim about in, with places to hide at the ends, or would they prefer to have it like an obstacle course from one end to the other? I just want to be able to set the tank up to maximise his/her happiness that's all!

Finally, given they don't particularly like currents in their habitat, how do they tend to get on with airstones and the like?

Thanks for reading, and no doubt I'll be back with more questions at a later date!

Cheers for now,

Derry

mikeg

Reaction score
Hi everybody,