Question: Feeding Littl (the Lotl)

Beowulf

Reaction score
Country
United States
So, I've had my wild-type baby Littl (gender still undetermined) for close to 9 months now, and have realized I have probably had some issues in raising him. For one thing, I know he is far too small for his age, but that is largely due to his housing situation--one of those one-gallon plastic "pet containers."

Before I go on, I'd like to explain all of this by saying I am a college student with no job and very limited space. Yes, I know, then why am I keeping an axolotl? Well, I had the opportunity to get one for free from someone who accidentally bred some, and I couldn't pass that up. I've been doing my best with what I can, but understand I have VERY LIMITED money and resources. I'm new here, but I've seen this forum to be very friendly, which is why I've come to you guys for advice. However, I don't need to hear about how "my tank is too small" or "why aren't you doing ____?"--it's probably just because I simply can't right now. Ideally, Littl would have a 10 gallon tank and fresh worms and nice axolotl pellet food to eat every day, but I can't pull that off in a dorm room. It's kind of a soft spot for me, which is why I brought it up.

Anyways, Littl has been living off defrosted bloodworms since I got him. I've used a plastic Pasteur pipette so almost 'hand-feed' him, since that's how the previous owner raised the babies. I considering switching his food, especially after I saw him spitting up worms one night (he seemed fine the next day, and the worms had been...re-eaten, I presume). So I bought a small thing of Reptomin pellets and have given him a few. He seems to eat them okay, although he wriggled around a lot more as he was swallowing.