Babies (still in eggs) with curved tails

Stacey87

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Display Name
axie-addict
Hiya just wondering if anyone can give me a little info, as this is the first time Ive had eggs from my axies, i have about 80 eggs in a container, and they seem to be growing as normal, they are moving around a lot and all seem alive and well, however most of them seem to have curved tails!!

is this normal due to them been in a small egg or is there something wrong???

would hate for something to happen this late on in their development, i think they are due to hatch in about 2-3 days (that will take it to the 14 days)

There's not a lot of room in the egg. They can't straighten out, so yes, it's normal for their tails to curve around.

What you're looking for with 'curved tail' in regards to stress is more like a hook or cup shape at the end of the tail.

Ah right, good, thanks for that, I read about it and started to worry as I am new to this. But I can relax now and wait for them to hatch :)

Quick question, have you any idea what colour my babies are likely to be? The eggs where all white when hatched so I assumed it was my golden albino that layed the eggs however they have all got black eyes but without any reflective rings, and are all turning dark? I have three axies in the tank and I am unsure which is the dad/mum. I have a black wild type which I think is a male, a golden albino and a white albino both with red/pink eyes the golden has a reflective ring around but the white doesnt. Just wondering what the babies are likely to be and what colour???

:confused:

Last edited by a moderator:
Albinos will lay all white eggs, regardless of what color the larvae will be.

It's really hard to determine the color mutations an animal has until it gets a little bigger. I usually don't even start to guess until they grow their front legs.

ok thanx alot, ill just be patient ha ha.